Skip navigation

Eissmann receives Innovation Prize

The prestigious Lothar Späth Prize has only been awarded by the Federal Association for Economic Development and Foreign Trade (BWA) on five occasions. Eissmann Automotive Deutschland GmbH is a first-time recipient.

Initiated in 1998, Lothar Späth Prize is awarded once a year to companies with a minimum personal liability of 20 per cent. Criteria considered include entrepreneurial achievement on the part of the applicant, future market and growth potential, sustainable innovations and generation of ideas, unique selling propositions and successful distinction from competitors, a motivating corporate culture, a role model function for medium-sized enterprises, alongside fair partnership with customers and suppliers, and the way in which entrepreneurial success is linked to social responsibility.

Other aspects considered in conferring this prize include job creation, investment in training, the appointment of elderly employees, support for the severely handicapped, family-friendly workplace arrangements, support for charities or non-governmental organizations.

Eissmann Automotive Deutschland GmbH was put forward for this award due to its successful investment in the Thuringia location, in particular during the economic crisis. The winner was selected by an independent panel of judges.

Alongside Eissmann Automotive Deutschland GmbH, eleven other companies received awards. The Prize was presented by the Chairman of the BWA, Dirk Bormann, and the Federal Chief Executive of the BWA, Matthias Anschütz.